The Monastery of Asomatou Archangel Michael is located outside Vafkeri and is one of the most significant and rich monasteries of the island. The estimated founding of the monastery was in the 16th century, during the years of Turkish domination.
According to the historian K. Machera, it existed long before 1681. The first church was a little single placed room with a saddled wooden roof completed by small low roofed cells.
In 1700, during Venetian domination, the monastery had been flourishing with 19 cells, many fields and animals. The monastery’s location in a rich verdant valley, gave it a lot of economic strength.
Today the only evidence of its existence are the remaining cells, guestroom, storehouses, oil press and stables.
The catholicon of the church has important wall paintings covering all of the church’s walls, which were created from the end of the 16th century until the beginning of the 17th century. It is worthwhile to stop and admire the “Panagia Platitera”, at the edge of sanctum, and, on the top, the “Ascension of Christ”. The icon of “Akras Tapinosis” (Total Humiliation) to the edge of offertory, the “Vision Of Agios Petros” and the “Sacrifice of Avraam” also offer magnificent representations. One of the most well preserved representations with soft and warm colors is the “the miracle of Archangel Michael”, to whom the monastery is dedicated.